Favorite Things About Moana

cf5fe5b62e26e8efc49fccd8e07beb25_-jiminy-cricket-disney-disney-jiminy-cricket-clipart_236-559Last week we asked… You and Dave Koch answered.   The best thing about solo travel is: doin your own thing .

Now let’s see what we will find this week!

Moana – the 250 million dollar musical which tells the tale of a fearless adventurer journeying to save her people.   Featuring Auli’i Cravalho, Dwayne Johnson, Ron Clements and John Musker as the direction team, and the music of Lin-Manuel Miranda.  With her home release this week, and Wrestlemania XXXIII this weekend, what else could we think about?

Rich here:

  1. Maui – The Rock – What can I say. One of my favorite WWE wrestlers as one of the most awesome supporting heroes in a Disney movie. He brings it in the charisma department, laying the SmackDown on Tamatoa (One of the worst things about Moana). He entertains with his Tattoos, and with his Chameleon-like abilities. Maui is the Man (ok Demigod). 
  2. HeiHei the Chicken – Gosh this rooster is funny. I am sure at one time Pua was going to have as big a role, on the raft, and in Moana’s quest, but somehow they gave all the good parts to HeiHei. I’m sure many people do not like the rooster that much, I think he is exactly what this movie needed, some comic relief, and a fun character to care about. 
  3. You’re Welcome! – I really like this song. Wow, it is fun. I find myself replying in Maui’s version all the time “You’re Welcome!”. It is by far the best song in the movie (yeah yeah I know I have been told. “How Far I’ll Go” is better but I disagree). Between the catchy jingle, the gateway to rap, and the introduction to the best supporting actor in an animated movie, this song has it all. 

Amanda, what say you?

Amanda here:

  1. With the exception of the annoying “I’m Shiny” song, Moana has one of my favorite soundtracks of any movie. I am a Lin-Manuel Miranda fan so maybe it isn’t surprising that I love the music so much. From “How Far I’ll Go” to “You’re Welcome!” I have these songs stuck in my head.
  2. Another Disney movie with a strong female lead. Moana is a headstrong, independent female character and exactly the type of role model I want for my daughter and my nieces. I love Princess-type movies that aren’t about “getting the man.” Moana isn’t out to impress anyone except by fulfilling her own destiny and it’s great to see her grow into a great leader.
  3. As much as I love the character of Moana, it is The Rock who really steals the show. Maui is such a fun character. A prankster demigod who has, arguably, the catchiest tune of the movie. Watching the relationship between Maui and Moana grow throughout the movie is truly touching. I love how Maui’s tattoos help tell the story in such a clever use of animation within an animated movie.

Special Guest Julie Patton how about you?

  1. It is a great story of bravery and family! I love that Moana relies on her wits and the ocean to save her village and that there is no storyline whatsoever of her finding a prince to marry. What a positive message!
  2. The animation is stunning! This movie has the best representations of hair and water of any computer animated movie I’ve ever seen.
  3. The soundtrack! The songs are singable and stick in your head in a good way. “You’re Welcome” and “Where You Are” are going in my permanent playlists.

Julie has been a Disney fan since she was very young and watched “The Wonderful World of Disney” every Sunday evening with her family. She first visited Disneyland in 1978 and Walt Disney World in 1983 and has been back now more times than she can count. She has been known to sing Disney songs very loudly while doing chores, and the Moana soundtrack helped get her through a recent marathon.

Ok .. now it’s your chance …

  • Who was right?
  • Who was wrong?
  • What is your favorite?
Leave a Reply

